Health events surveillance

The surveillance depends on:

1. The declarative data of the Nutrinautes (in the health questionnaires and the dedicated website)

The means used in the collection of data concerning health events that occur during the follow up period of the NutriNet-Santé study and the validation of such events on medical basis, are well explained in the side document one can download from the site. However, the validation of diseases, which are the judgment criteria for the NutriNet-Santé study, requires a direct access to complementary medical documents enabling independent specialists to make a clear and precise diagnosis and to classify such diseases according to the International Classification of Diseases (ICD) of the WHO.

For this purpose, the team in charge of setting up the NutriNet-Santé study would like to collect, from the participants at the study and on a voluntary basis, precise and documented information on health events (principal and secondary judgment criteria) occurring during the 10-year follow up period. Such collection guarantees a maximum level of data security and confidentiality in the study of health-nutrition relationships.

 

 

2. The surveillance of the Nutrinautes health using medico-administrative database

Surveillance of mortality and causes of death

Data on the vital status and causes of death will be obtained following the procedure described in decree 98-37 that authorises the access to the RNIPP and the database of CépiDc-INSERM. Such procedure is simple and efficient (except for the non-French, born abroad persons who are hard to trace).

Surveillance of health events
Health events will be retrospectively evaluated at year 3, 5 and 10 of the study; this evaluation is largely based on the existent medico-administrative databases (whenever available for the research team) and on the scientific and technical management board of cohorts and big epidemiological trails (Plastico project).

Medico-administrative databases

  • For health events, the access to the national information system of Health Insurance (SNIIR-AM in French) can provide an access to individual medical data which are structured and coded in a standardised way. This system comprises data on the expenditures of all Health Insurance regimes; by geographical zone, by nature of expenditures, by category of professionals who are in charge of these expenditures and by sector (professional or enterprise).
  • The reimbursement database of the Health Insurance service provides useful information on medical prescriptions only that it doesn’t comprise information on the nature of the treated illnesses, and evidently it does not provide information on over-the-counter medications and the non reimbursed benefits.
  • Chronic diseases database (ALD in French) regroups all affiliates who are exonerated from co-payment with agreement of the medical service of Health Insurance that codes the exonerated illnesses according to the International classification of diseases (ICD10).
  • Database of programme of medical information systems of hospitals (PMSI in French) comprises, for each hospital admission, information on the principal diagnosis, associated diagnoses, age, sex and the most expensive diagnostic or therapeutic actions. The diagnoses are coded according to the ICD10, and the actions according to the common classification of medical acts (CCAM in French).

Database of the National Insurance Fund for retirement and old ages (Cnav in French)

The study has obtained a State Council decree regarding the automated treatment of personal data within the NutriNet-Santé study (n°2013-175 from 26/02/2013)

Aiming at the creation of a comprehensive health status database without creating an extra burden for participants, we have applied for access to the national SNIIRAM database (Système national d’information inter régimes de l’assurance maladie) with the explicit consent from each participant. Thus, we would like to ask each participant whether he/she would be willing to provide their social security number (NIR) via a secure interface and in observance of all applicable laws. This information will be collected solely for the purpose of collecting data on healthcare expenditures, medication use, and health services use, which will complete our health status database. This data collection will be carried out by staff researchers in charge of the study. The acquisition of a State Council decree was deemed necessary given the legislative restrictions regarding access to the NIR.

For that purpose, we initially obtained permission from the Health Data Institute (Institut des Données de Santé, IDS), in observance of the National Social Security Code. Following a meeting with Pr Hercberg and a deliberation, the IDS granted its approval in September 2010. Next, approval was obtained from the CCTIRS on 17/11/2011 (file n°11.675) regarding «the supplementary collection of NIR from volunteers participating in the NutriNet-Santé study, which will permit access to personal data stored in SNIIRAM.» Next, approval was obtained from the National Health Insurance Council (Conseil de la Caisse nationale de l’assurance maladie des travailleurs salariés, CNAMTS) on 25/09/2012.  The CNIL also provided its approval (Deliberation n°2012-260, permitn°12013236 from 19/07/2012, JO from 28/02/2013) with an order from the State Council regarding the treatment of personal data for health research purposes within the NutriNet-Santé study.

The State Council has announced the Decree on 26/02/2013 (n°2013-175) regarding the automated treatment of personal data within the NutriNet-Santé study. It authorizes the collection of the NIR from participants who have consented to providing that information, and the respective link with national SNIIRAM medical database.

La surveillance des évènements de santé

La surveillance des événements de santé repose sur :

1. les données déclaratives des Nutrinautes (questionnaires santé et site Internet spécifique dédié)

Dans le document téléchargeable sont présentés les moyens mis en oeuvre pour le recueil d’informations concernant les évènements de santé survenus dans le cadre de l’étude NutriNet-Santé et leur validation sur le plan médical. Pour être en mesure de valider objectivement les pathologies correspondant aux critères de jugement de l’étude NutriNet-Santé, il est indispensable de pouvoir accéder à des documents médicaux complémentaires permettant à des spécialistes indépendants, sur la base des documents collectés, d’aboutir à un diagnostic précis et de codifier ces diagnostics en fonction de la Classification Internationale des Maladies de l’OMS (CIM).

Dans ce contexte, l’équipe en charge de la mise en œuvre de l’étude NutriNet-Santé a souhaité pouvoir collecter, auprès des participants de l’étude, sur une base volontaire, des informations précises et documentées sur les événements santé (critères de jugement principaux ou secondaires) survenus dans les 10 ans de surveillance de l’étude. Cette collecte d’informations permet ainsi d’optimiser l’étude des relations nutrition santé dans un cadre de sécurité et de confidentialité optimales.

 

 

2. la surveillance de la santé des nutrinautes par les bases médico-administratives

Surveillance de la mortalité et des causes de décès
Le statut vital et les causes de décès sont obtenus selon la procédure décrite dans le Décret 98-37 autorisant l’accès au RNIPP et à la base de données du CépiDc-Inserm. Cette procédure est simple et efficace (excepté pour les personnes non françaises nées à l’étranger, qui sont plus difficilement retrouvées).

Surveillance des événements de santé
Les événements de santé sont évalués de façon rétrospective à 3, 5 ans puis 10 ans en s’appuyant en grande partie sur les bases médico-administratives existantes (lorsqu’elles sont disponibles pour les équipes de recherche) en se référant à la Plate-forme scientifique et technique pour l’aide à la gestion de cohortes et de grandes enquêtes épidémiologiques (projet Plastico).

Les données des bases médico-administratives

  • Pour les événements de santé, l’accès au SNIIR-AM (Système national d’information inter régimes de l’Assurance maladie,) peut fournir un accès à des données individuelles médicalisées, structurées et codées de manière standardisée. Ce système comprend des données sur les dépenses de l'ensemble des régimes d'assurance maladie par circonscription géographique, par nature de dépenses, par catégorie de professionnels responsables de ces dépenses et par professionnel ou établissement.
  • La base de données de remboursement de l’Assurance maladie fournit des informations pratiques sur les prescriptions, mais elle ne comporte pas d’information sur la nature des maladies traitées, et exclut par définition l’automédication et les prestations non présentées au remboursement.
  • La base de données des ALD (Affections de Longue Durée) concerne tous les affiliés exonérés du ticket modérateur, après avis du service médical de l’Assurance maladie qui code l’affection exonérante selon la Classification Internationale des Maladies (CIM10).
  • La base de données du Programme de médicalisation des systèmes d’information des hôpitaux (PMSI) comprend pour chacun des séjours hospitaliers le recueil du diagnostic principal, du ou des diagnostics associés, de l’âge, du sexe et des actes diagnostiques et thérapeutiques les plus coûteux. Les diagnostics sont codés selon la CIM10 et les actes selon la Classification Commune des Actes Médicaux (CCAM).
  • Les bases de données de la Caisse nationale d’assurance vieillesse (Cnav).

Obtention d’un Décret en Conseil d’état portant création d’un traitement automatisé de données à caractère personnel dénommé « NutriNet-Santé » (no 2013-175 du 26 février 2013)

Pour compléter les données sur l’état de santé de l’ensemble des volontaires sans alourdir leur participation, nous avons fait les démarches pour pouvoir avoir accès, avec leur accord, à la base médico-administrative du Système national d’information inter régimes de l’assurance maladie (SNIIRAM). Pour pouvoir avoir accès aux données individuelles du SNIIRAM, nous souhaitions, dans les conditions de la Loi pouvoir demander aux sujets de l’étude, s’ils acceptent de nous indiquer (de façon sécurisée) leur NIR, dans la finalité exclusive, pour les chercheurs en charge de l’étude, d’avoir la possibilité de recueillir les données sur la consommation de soins et la consommation médicamenteuse pour compléter les éléments d’évaluation de l’état de santé. Compte-tenu de la législation restrictive qui entoure la collecte du NIR, il était nécessaire d’obtenir un décret en Conseil d’Etat.

Pour cela, et conformément au Code de la Sécurité Sociale, un avis a d’abord été demandé à l’Institut des Données de Santé (IDS). Après expertise du dossier et audition du Pr Hercberg, un avis favorable à cette demande a été rendu par l’IDS en Septembre 2010. Un avis favorable du CCTIRS concernant la « collecte complémentaire du NIR auprès des volontaires participant à l’étude NutriNet-Santé pour permettre l’accès aux données individuelles du SNIIRAM » a été obtenu le 17 novembre 2011 (dossier n° 11.675). Un avis favorable du conseil de la Caisse nationale de l’assurance maladie des travailleurs salariés (CNAMTS) a été obtenu le 25 septembre 2012. La CNIL (Délibération n° 2012-260 du 19 juillet 2012) portant avis sur un projet de décret en Conseil d’Etat relatif à la mise en oeuvre d’un traitement de données à caractère personnel dans le cadre d’une recherche en santé humaine dénommée NutriNet-Santé a également donné un avis favorable ( n° 12013236 du 19 juillet 2012, JO du 28 février 2013).

Le Conseil d’Etat a promulgué un Décret (n° 2013-175), le 26 février 2013 portant création d’un traitement automatisé de données à caractère personnel dénommé « NutriNet-Santé » (JO du 28 février 2013) autorisant, chez les sujets qui le souhaitent, la collecte du NIR auprès des participants de l’étude et l’appariement avec les bases médico-administratives du SNIIRAM